We have a winner!

In the first ever Wedding Photography Project contest, we have a winner!  And the winner is (drumroll please)…Ed Pingol!

Here is the winning entry:

ep-3.jpg

camera setting was 100iso 30th @ f19. this smooths out the water falling and also gives us enough ambient light to light the whole scenery. monica, my wife is hiding behind the falling water on the left side (notice i didn’t clone her out so you can see her head) holding a SB-24 triggered by a pocket wizard mounted on a monopod.

The reasons behind my choice are first that I thought it was a cool composition with the lines traveling around the frame, the way line of the groom’s head and neck echo the line of the rock above him, the slow shutter speed to let the water blend, the cool use of flash during the day, the educational value it has for the people that read here, and just because I liked it!

I know that contest judging is always controversial because everyone has different favorites, but I hope everyone will congratulate Ed!

A big “thank you” to  Ed Pingol, all the other entrants (I learned a bit, so hopefully others did, too), and Jim Garner the owner of the Boda bag company for putting up the prize!

I love photography, my family, and owning my own business. I am going to mix them up and see what I get!

Posted in Boda, composition, flash, photo contest, photo techniques, photography, photography - exposure, photography contest, wedding photography
8 comments on “We have a winner!
  1. David Heath says:

    Congratulations to Ed.

    When is the next contest?

  2. Cory Parris says:

    Hi David,
    I am going to start looking for a prize donor and plan to have the next contest hopefully in October!
    Cory

Leave a Reply

About WPP
The Wedding Photography Project is a website dedicated to helping wedding photographers improve, find ways to improve, and share the amazing work that they do. WPP is the brainchild of Cory Parris, a Seattle wedding photographer.
Site Sponsors



Blog Stats
  • 122,842 hits
