The final “Cool Photo” Entry!

This image comes from Aleks at Polka Photos in Los Angeles.

pp-1.jpg

I didn’t have a lot of time to capture this image.  I saw the bride coming into the limo and started shooting.  The ISO was set to 160 since I had been shooting outdoors and my settings were 1/100 at 5.0.  Processing was relatively simple.  When I process black & whites I often think in terms of what I would have done in a darkroom.  In Photoshop, however, I always start processing in color and save a color version first.  In Levels RGB channel I pulled in the blacks to give the photo lots of contrast.  I did a little bit of burning of midtones on the left hand side where there was a window and someone’s arm was visible.  I then converted to black & white.  Burned the window down a bit more as well as the glasses in the foreground.  Using Curves added a bit more contrast.  Then finally used the Unsharp Mask tool at radius 1.0 pixels until I like the sharpening (don’t remember the percent but I would guess around 130).  And voila!

I love photography, my family, and owning my own business. I am going to mix them up and see what I get!

Posted in photo contest, photo techniques, photography, photography contest, Photoshop, Photoshop techniques, wedding photography
One comment on “The final “Cool Photo” Entry!

Leave a Reply

About WPP
The Wedding Photography Project is a website dedicated to helping wedding photographers improve, find ways to improve, and share the amazing work that they do. WPP is the brainchild of Cory Parris, a Seattle wedding photographer.
Site Sponsors



Blog Stats
  • 122,842 hits
