The “Cool Photo” Contest!

This website is all about teaching each other cool tips, tricks, techniques and philosophies.  So here is our first contest to convince people to send me some cool tips, tricks and techniques.

Send me a cool photo (c@coryparris.com) that you took at a wedding.  Include with it a short paragraph about how you shot and processed it.  If I like it, I’ll publish it.  If it’s the best entry (judged solely by Cory Parris, no complaining), meaning that you have a really cool photograph and included some cool thoughts or ideas on how you did that could help another photographer, then you win a brand new Boda Bag!

To show you what I mean here is an entry from me (I’m not going to judge myself the winner – I already have a Boda).

wpp-sampleentry.jpg
I took this photograph at Hill’s Resort in Priest Lake Idaho.  The couple loves the lake and mountains, so I had them go out on the dock and used a telephoto lens (85mm on a 30D) to compress the distance between the couple and the mountains in the background.  I used a small aperture (f7.1) to have some detail and definition in the mountains.  When I processed this, I used a neat trick that I just discovered.  For the last few years, when I want the colors to really pop, I create a duplicate layer and change the blending mode to “Overlay”.  This time I sandwiched a black and white layer in between the original layer and the Overlay.  This created the high-contrast, desaturated and intense look.

Here’s the prize.

bodabag.jpg

I can’t wait to see your entries!

I love photography, my family, and owning my own business. I am going to mix them up and see what I get!

Posted in photo techniques, photography, Photoshop, Photoshop techniques, wedding photography, wedding photography business, wedding photography marketing
10 comments on “The “Cool Photo” Contest!
  1. Michelle says:

    Looks great Cory, I’ll have a look through my photo’s and if any are good enough I’ll sort ’em out and send them to you!

  2. Cory Parris says:

    I can’t wait to see what you come up with, Michelle!

  3. […] , Photoshop techniques , wedding photography , composition , photography These images for the Cool Photo Contest come from Chris of Jen Stewart […]

  4. […] a couple educational websites for professional and aspiring wedding photographers.  Over at the Wedding Photography Project, I currently have a contest to win a photo bag.  Anyone is welcome to enter!  Below is the post […]

  5. […] – Enter Now! Published July 3rd, 2007 Uncategorized The Cool Photo Contest ends tomorrow, July 4.  Send in your entries now to be considered for the free Boda […]

  6. […] Cool Photo Contest ends tomorrow, July 4.  Send in your entries now to be considered for the free Boda […]

  7. […] The “Cool Photo” Contest! […]

  8. Angela Smith says:

    This looks great, I’m excited!

  9. Hi there… I have just fallen in to your site! I was looking for cool ideas for a wedding we are doing in London, Mayfair this year and I typed in Cool Wedding Photographers and up came your site!

    My partner (in business not life!) and I have just started up a wedding photography business (check out our website) and we want to start entering competitions blah blah blah, so is there a competition for your boda bag (which I love the look of) in 2009?

    We are loving what we are doing. Clients are loving what we are doing. We just want to get more involved!

Leave a Reply

About WPP
The Wedding Photography Project is a website dedicated to helping wedding photographers improve, find ways to improve, and share the amazing work that they do. WPP is the brainchild of Cory Parris, a Seattle wedding photographer.
Site Sponsors



Blog Stats
  • 122,842 hits
