The final “Cool Photo” Entry!

This image comes from Aleks at Polka Photos in Los Angeles.

pp-1.jpg

I didn’t have a lot of time to capture this image.  I saw the bride coming into the limo and started shooting.  The ISO was set to 160 since I had been shooting outdoors and my settings were 1/100 at 5.0.  Processing was relatively simple.  When I process black & whites I often think in terms of what I would have done in a darkroom.  In Photoshop, however, I always start processing in color and save a color version first.  In Levels RGB channel I pulled in the blacks to give the photo lots of contrast.  I did a little bit of burning of midtones on the left hand side where there was a window and someone’s arm was visible.  I then converted to black & white.  Burned the window down a bit more as well as the glasses in the foreground.  Using Curves added a bit more contrast.  Then finally used the Unsharp Mask tool at radius 1.0 pixels until I like the sharpening (don’t remember the percent but I would guess around 130).  And voila!

Seattle commercial and wedding photographer creating storytelling images.

Posted in photo contest, photo techniques, photography, photography contest, Photoshop, Photoshop techniques, wedding photography
One comment on “The final “Cool Photo” Entry!

Leave a comment

About WPP
The Wedding Photography Project is a website dedicated to helping wedding photographers improve, find ways to improve, and share the amazing work that they do. WPP is the brainchild of Cory Parris, a Seattle wedding photographer.
Site Sponsors



Blog Stats
  • 123,265 hits